Murfreesboro Marijuana Possession Lawyers Defend Your Rights And Your Future

Defending Tennessee residents facing serious consequences for minor drug charges

Despite ever-increasing criticism from citizens and politicians alike, Tennessee continues to maintain and aggressively enforce one of the strictest state marijuana prohibitions in the United States. As a result, an arrest for possession of even a small amount of marijuana can have far-reaching consequences, possibly not only resulting a jail sentence and a mandatory fine, but a permanent criminal record which can be grounds for automatic denial of many future educational and employment opportunities.

Should you find yourself in the unfortunate position of facing a charge of marijuana possession, an experienced Murfreesboro marijuana possession lawyer with the firm of Kidwell, South, Beasley and Haley can assist you in mounting the most effective possible defense against any charges, and may even be able to negotiate an agreement prior to trial which can result in a complete dismissal of charges, keeping the arrest off of your permanent record.

What is the penalty for marijuana possession under Tennessee law?

In Tennessee, possession of even a small amount of marijuana may result in felony charges, depending upon the circumstances of the arrest:

  • Possession of a half-ounce of marijuana or less (first offense)—Misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a mandatory $250 fine.
  • Possession of a half-ounce of marijuana or less (second offense)—Misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a mandatory $500 fine.
  • Possession of a half-ounce of marijuana or less (third offense and greater)—Felony, punishable by 1-6 years in jail and a mandatory $1,000 fine.
  • Sale (involves possession of more than a half-ounce of marijuana, and can include intent to distribute)—Felony, punishable by punishable by 1-6 years in jail and a mandatory $5,000 fine.
  • Cultivation (ten plants or less)—Felony, punishable by 1-6 years in jail and a mandatory $5,000 fine

In short, an arrest for even a small personal stash of marijuana is a problem best handled with the help of a knowledgeable Murfreesboro marijuana possession lawyer with the experience and skill to fight for your rights and to craft an effective defense strategy

How can I fight the marijuana possession charges against me?

Depending upon the circumstances surrounding the possession charge, several factors come into consideration:

  • The circumstances of the arrest. Did the police properly stop and search you? Are they able to prove that the marijuana in question belongs to you?
  • The severity of the charge. In Tennessee, the distinction between a misdemeanor and a felony charge for possession can be quite narrow. Upon reviewing the facts of your case, an experienced Murfreesboro marijuana possession lawyer can determine the state’s likelihood of success and to mount an effective defense.
  • Diversion and other options. The state may agree to suspend prosecution for a certain period of time in order to allow eligible defendants to attend drug education classes, perform community service, and/or complete a drug testing program. Successfully meeting such negotiated conditions for the complete duration of the suspension then results in a dismissal of the possession charge, keeping the charge off of your record.

Given this variety of options, it is essential that you meet with one of our Murfreesboro marijuana possession attorneys right away. We have the knowledge to recommend your best course of action, and aggressively provide a strong defense.

Contact an experienced Murfreesboro marijuana defense attorney today

For more than 40 years, the team of criminal defense attorneys at the law firm of Kidwell, South, Beasley and Haley has been dedicated to fighting for the rights of Murfreesboro residents charged with marijuana possession. If you are now facing charges, we can help. Contact us today for a free consultation at 615-893-1331, and please—do not fight these charges alone.