Grounds for Divorce in Tennessee
In order to initiate your divorce in Tennessee, you need to file a petition with the court asking for your divorce as well as the reasons for terminating the marriage. In the state of Tennessee, the courts will recognize both fault grounds and no-fault grounds for divorce. One of the best things you can do for yourself when you’re contemplating divorce is to set up a meeting with an experienced Tennessee family lawyer at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley Attorneys at Law. Meeting with a lawyer does not obligate you to file, but it gives you a better picture of what you can expect if you decide to file so that you feel more confident and organized with the process.
No-fault grounds for divorce in tennessee
Individuals who do not want to file on the basis of fault can state irreconcilable differences. This is known as a no-fault divorce. This means that neither spouse is responsible for stating any wrongdoing on the part of the other spouse or claiming that someone else’s misconduct led to the termination of the marriage. In addition to stating irreconcilable differences, individuals seeking a divorce in Tennessee might also base their divorce on separation grounds. This means you must demonstrate that you have lived separately for a continuous period of at least two years, that you have not co-habited together as man and wife during the same period and that there are no minor children involved.
Fault grounds for divorce in tennessee
If you do not wish to seek no-fault grounds for divorce in Tennessee, you can opt to state that the other spouse’s conduct led to the termination of the marriage. There are multiple different fault grounds that you can file in the state of Tennessee such as:
• Felony convictions
• Malicious or willful desertion for a year
• Drug or alcohol abuse
• Cruel and inhumane treatment
• Attempted murder of the spouse
You need to file your divorce and wait a period of 60 days before the divorce is heard in court if you have no unmarried children under the age of 18. If you have an unmarried child under the age of 18, you must wait at least a 90-day period. If you have questions about the grounds for filing for divorce and what is most appropriate in your situation, consult with one of our experienced Tennessee divorce attorneys as soon as possible.
Finding the right family lawyer in Murfreesboro, Tennessee could be essential for your future. Make sure you weigh your options and have a divorce lawyer who is committed to helping work towards the best possible outcome for you. There is no doubt that you are experiencing many emotions in this situation, and a knowledgeable attorney can help you make sense of your future. The lawyers at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley Attorneys at Law are here to help you when you need more advice about the next steps involved in filing for divorce. Contact us online or call 615-893-1331 today for a consultation.