DUI Penalties in Tennessee, Defense Attorneys
Tennessee enforces serious penalties for those found guilty of driving under the influence
A DUI charge is a serious matter. The state of Tennessee has created severe penalties for those found guilty of driving under the influence to communicate their zero tolerance policy for driving under the influence. If you have been charged with DUI, you may already feel condemned by the court of public opinion. The judgment of others, combined with facing the judgment of a court of law, can be isolating and extremely stressful. Don’t feel alone in such a difficult time. The dedicated Tennessee DUI defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley provide unrivaled client support. Our attorneys stand by your side, defending you every step of the way.
What are the penalties for DUI in Tennessee?
DUI in Tennessee carry mandatory penalties like jail time and fines and optional penalties that are left to the discretion of the court.
DUI sentences can include:
- Jail time
- Highway litter removal
- Alcohol and drug treatment program
- Victim Impact Panel
- Community service
- License revocation
- Ignition interlock device
- Vehicle forfeiture
- Alcohol, drug, electronic, or GPS monitoring device
DUI penalties depend on a number of different factors. The main factor is if you are found guilty of driving under the influence and you have previous DUI charges on your record. Other factors include
- Your blood-alcohol content (BAC) level
- Whether the DUI resulted in harm to another
- Whether there was a minor child in the vehicle at the time of the DUI
1st Time DUI Offense
First time DUI offenders can receive a minimum 48 hours in jail and a maximum of 11 months and 29 days in jail. $350-$1,500 fine. The mandatory minimum jail time increases to 7 days if your BAC was .20 or higher. Additionally, your license may be revoked for one year and you may be required to attend alcohol and drug-treatment program.
2nd Time DUI Offense
Someone convicted of a second DUI offense can receive a minimum of 45 days in jail, mandatory fine of $600-$3,500, and license revocation for two years. After the two years, driver license use is restricted to work, school, or court-ordered alcohol and drug treatment programs. Your vehicle may also be confiscated.
3rd Time DIU Offense
Receiving a third DUI conviction can result in a minimum of 120 days in jail, mandatory fine of $1,100-$10,000, and license revocation for 6-10 years with no possibility of getting a restricted license, even for work.
4th Time & Subsequent DUI Felonies
Fourth and subsequent DUI convictions are considered felonies. They carry a minimum sentence of one year in jail, a mandatory fine of $3,000-$15,000, and an 8-year license revocation with no restricted license afterwards.
Additional DUI Charge Factors in Tennessee
As stated above, there are additional factors to consider in DUI charges which can increase the level of punishment. For example, if you get a DUI when there is a minor child in the car increases the minimum jail time to 30 days and the minimum fine to $1,000. Additionally, if you harmed anyone in the course of driving under the influence, the court can order you to pay restitution. Causing serious bodily injury in the course of driving under the influence is a Class D felony. The penalty is 2-12 years in prison, fine up to $5,000, and 1-5 years license revocation. Killing anyone because of driving under the influence is vehicular homicide, a Class B felony, which carries a sentence of 8-30 years in prison and fine up to $25,000, license revocation for 3-10 years and no restricted license.
The state of Tennessee does not take DUI charges lightly and neither should you. Contact our Murfreesboro Tennessee DUI defense attorneys today for help
Facing a DUI charge is serious. Don’t leave your future to chance. Contact the highly-skilled Murfreesboro Tennessee DUI defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley today online, or call 615-893-1331 to schedule a free consultation.