Murfreesboro Multiple DUI Attorneys Provide Strategic Defense Strategies
Multiple DUI charges require skilled DUI defense attorneys on your side
In Tennessee, you can be arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) if you are found to be operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.8%. However, Tennessee police are permitted to arrest you without having actually witnessed you driving your car. You can be considered to be “in physical control” of your parked car without even physically driving. In addition, the stated 0.8% BAC requirement is merely a statutory threshold—even if you refuse a BAC test, an arresting officer may charge you with a DUI based solely on their opinion or conclusion that you are “under the influence”.
Because of these ambiguities under Tennessee law, cooperating with the police after being charged with a DUI can be a significant mistake. The punishment for a DUI conviction in Tennessee can be substantial, and, should you have a previous DUI conviction on your record, whether in Tennessee or elsewhere, the resulting legal penalties can be devastating.
If you have been charged with a DUI, it is critical to consult with an experienced Murfreesboro multiple DUI defense attorney. The Murfreesboro multiple DUI attorneys of Kidwell, South, Beasley and Haley have the experience and skill to determine your rights under Tennessee law and to effectively fight the charges against you with strong defense strategies.
What are the penalties for multiple DUI’s in Tennessee?
Tennessee has a “look back” period of ten years, meaning that any previous DUI conviction within the past ten years will be factored into the potential penalty for a pending DUI charge. For example:
- A first offense DUI mandates a minimum of 48 hours in jail. This jumps to 45 days upon a second conviction, 120 days upon a third, and 150 days upon fourth and subsequent offenses.
- Conviction for a first DUI will result in a one year driver’s license revocation; a second conviction, two years; three years for a third. A fourth conviction can result in permanent revocation.
- Fines for a first offense range from $350 to $1,500; second offense, $600-$3,500; third offense, $1,100-$10,000; fourth and greater, $3,000-$15,000.
- Vehicle forfeiture is authorized after a second offense.
A DUI conviction in Tennessee can also negatively impact child custody and visitation rights, as well as employment and educational opportunities.
Murfreesboro multiple DUI attorneys challenge DUI evidence and prior convictions
Our experienced Murfreesboro DUI attorneys are familiar with several methods of successfully building a strong case in your defense. Because the circumstances of individual cases can vary greatly, a knowledgeable lawyer will determine, based on your particular case:
- Whether a prior out-of-state DUI conviction qualifies as a prior conviction under Tennessee law.
- Whether law enforcement had sufficient cause for the initial pull-over
- Whether law enforcement administered a valid field sobriety test.
- Whether law enforcement had the right to request a BAC test and/or Breathalyzer test.
Our DUI attorneys are skilled and ensure that your rights are protected by reviewing all the circumstances and evidence in your case, and strive to reduce the charges down a lesser offense, and fight for the reinstatement of your rights once resolving your case.
Our experienced Murfreesboro multiple DUI attorneys are ready to help, so call today
The DUI defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley and Haley are dedicated to helping people accused of multiple DUI charges protect their rights and mount the most effective defense possible. If you have been charged with DUI in Tennessee, and you have a prior DUI, we encourage you to meet with one of our knowledgeable attorneys as soon as possible for a free initial consultation. You can contact us online, or call us at 615-893-1331.