Dedicated Murfreesboro DUI Attorneys
DUI is devastating for everyone involved
In 2014, drunk driving claimed nearly 10,000 lives and caused approximately 290,000 injuries in the United States. In Tennessee, intoxicated motorists caused more than 260 deaths. Because this activity is so dangerous, a DUI conviction often has harsh consequences. When you have been charged with DUI, the Murfreesboro DUI lawyers at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley stand by you.
What you should know about Tennessee DUI laws
It doesn’t matter if you are driving on a state highway, through an alley or a parking lot. In order to be charged with DUI in Tennessee, the alcohol concentration in your blood or breath while you are operating a motor vehicle must be at least 0.08. If you are drunk and get behind the wheel of a commercial motor vehicle, the standard is even tougher in 0.04. For drivers age 16 to 20, the standard is 0.02. Here are some more things you should know:
- Punishment upon conviction for a first offense ranges from 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days in jail.
- If you’ve been convicted for the first time, but your blood/breath alcohol content was at least 0.20, you will be sent to jail for at least seven days.
- The penalty upon conviction for a second offense ranges from 45 days to 11 months and 29 days in jail.
- Punishment upon conviction for a third offense ranges from four months to 11 months and 29 days in jail.
- A fourth or subsequent offense is categorized as a Class E felony with punishments ranging from one to six years in prison.
- In order to apply the enhanced penalties, the current offense must occur within 10 years of the prior offense.
- In addition to jail time, punishments can include fines ranging from $350 to $15,000, depending on the severity of the offense.
Your driver’s license can also be revoked or suspended
If you’ve pleaded guilty to or been found guilty of DUI, you will also lose your driving privileges in Tennessee. The duration of this punishment depends on the severity of the offense. A breakdown follows:
- One year for your first offense
- Two years for the second offense
- Six years for the third offense
- Eight years for the fourth or subsequent offense
- The same sanctions apply to drivers who were operating commercial vehicles when the offense occurred.
In some cases, you may be able to apply for a restricted license. A judge can grant the request, subject to certain conditions, including the use of a device called an ignition interlock. The court can also put limitations on where you can drive. For instance, you may only be allowed to drive to work, school, church, or court-mandated appointments.
Call our savvy Murfreesboro DUI attorneys today if you are facing DUI charges
The Murfreesboro DUI lawyers at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley know that facing a DUI charge is frightening and overwhelming. We also realize that compassionate and competent representation is key to the successful resolution of your case. You can set up an appointment online or call us at (615) 893-1331.