Out of State DUI Attorneys in Tennessee
DUI charges don’t just happen in your home state. Trust our Tennessee DUI attorneys if you are facing an out of state DUI
You might have been traveling for work or on vacation. Whatever the reason for traveling to Tennessee, your trip took an unfortunate turn when you were charged with driving under the influence. Nothing can feel as overwhelming as facing criminal charges and being away from home. In times like these, you look for someone who will have your back in a difficult situation. Look no further than the trusted attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley. Our experienced Tennessee DUI defense attorneys have a history of successfully defending clients against DUI charges.
What happens if I am not from Tennessee, but I am charged with a DUI while driving in Tennessee?
Being charged with DUI is stressful enough, being charged with an out of state DUI can make you feel like your life has dissolved into chaos. If you are not a resident of Tennessee, but are being charged with DUI in Tennessee, you should contact our skilled DUI defense attorneys as soon as possible. Additionally, here are some key facts you need to know:
- Tennessee is an implied consent state: This means that under state law, any person driving in Tennessee is deemed to have given consent to a test to determine their blood alcohol content. If you are from out of state and refuse to submit to a breath or blood test, you may be barred from driving in Tennessee for one to two years. The State of Tennessee only has authority to revoke your right to drive in Tennessee, not your home state.
- Tennessee is not a member to the “Driver License Compact”: This is an agreement between 45 states and the District of Columbia to report out of state DUI convictions to the home state of the driver. Your home state, however, may still learn about any DUI conviction in Tennessee and could then take action to suspend or revoke your driving privileges.
- You will be subject to Tennessee law and the DUI penalties of the state: The Tennessee penalty for a first DUI offense is a minimum of 48 hours and a maximum of 11 months and 29 days jail time, a $350-$1-500 fine, and participation in a drug and alcohol safety class. Your right to drive in Tennessee could be revoked for one year and you may be ordered to do community service.
- You have to show up to court even if you are from out-of-state: If you are arrested for DUI in Tennessee and you are from out of state, you are still required to attend all court hearings. If you do not show up, Tennessee can issue a warrant for your arrest, your home state would then find out about the arrest and suspend your license. Tennessee would also be able to extradite you back for court proceedings, but this can be costly and so issuing a warrant would be the most likely alternative.
Contact our experienced Murfreesboro Tennessee DUI defense attorneys today if you are facing an out-of-state DUI charge
If you are facing a DUI charge in Tennessee, get a Murfreesboro DUI defense attorney that aggressively defends you. The tenacious DUI defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley fight to protect your rights every step of the way, with extensive knowledge of the law and more than 40 years of criminal defense experience. Contact us online, or call 615-893-1331 to schedule a free consultation.