Providing Alcohol to Minors in Tennessee
Getting legal representation the minute you are charged with providing alcohol to minors can help you avoid a permanent criminal record
Buying or giving alcohol to a minor or knowingly turning a blind eye to alcohol use by minors in your home can land you in serious legal trouble. With alcohol use by minors being a continual problem in Tennessee, the State has little tolerance for this offense. In addition to losing your license, community service, and a probationary period, you also face a permanent criminal record. You do not want this kind of thing following you around for the rest of your life. The dedicated Tennessee criminal defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley have the experience and legal skills to effectively fight any criminal charges you may face. We take our job of defending you very seriously and we aggressively work to clear you of all charges.
What are the Tennessee laws regarding providing alcohol to minors?
In Tennessee, giving alcohol to a person under the legal drinking age of 21 is a Class A misdemeanor. The consequences of being convicted of this crime include:
- Losing your license for up to 1 year
- Required community service of up to 100 hours
- 1-year probation
- Permanent criminal record
Providing alcohol does not just mean selling alcohol, but includes a wide variety of circumstances. If your minor child has friends over to your house and there is unrestricted access to alcohol that you know about, this is considered providing alcohol to minors. Additionally, if you place an alcoholic beverage near a person under 21 years old with the intent of allowing them to drink from the beverage, you are considered to be providing alcohol to a minor. These examples just go to show you that you do not have to give alcohol directly to a person under 21 years of age to be found guilty of this crime. All you need is to have intended to provide alcohol to the underage person. Stated otherwise, you must have known that you were providing the alcohol to the underage individual.
If you are providing alcohol to a person under the age of 21, you can be convicted of providing alcohol to a minor. If the minor is under the age of 18, you can also be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor. Possession of alcohol is considered to be an act of juvenile delinquency. Thus, furnishing alcohol to a person under the age of 18 would be contributing to this delinquent act. This is a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee. It is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $2,500.
A criminal charge can follow you forever. Don’t take any chances, contact our trusted Tennessee criminal defense attorneys
Whether it be passing an underage person an alcoholic beverage or letting your minor host a keg party at your house, providing alcohol to minors carries serious penalties. Don’t let this criminal charge turn into a criminal conviction with lasting consequences. Our Tennessee criminal defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley provide strong legal representation. We are committed to your aggressive defense Contact Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley today online, or call 615-893-1331 to schedule a free consultation.