Driving on a Suspended License in Tennessee
Being convicted of driving on a suspended license can make a bad situation worse. Consult our knowledgeable criminal law attorneys to know your options.
Having a suspended license disrupts your whole life. Getting around is difficult. You feel trapped at home. That being said, driving on a suspended license can have serious consequences. If convicted of this offense, you face jail time, fines, and an increase in the suspension period for your license. At Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley, our experienced Tennessee criminal defense attorneys are here to help you through those times where you may feel like you have made a bad situation much worse. Don’t wait to contact us.
What happens if you are found driving on a suspended license?
In Tennessee, your driver’s license may have been suspended for a number of reasons, including, but not limited to:
o Refusing BAC testing
o Driving without insurance
o Failing to pay traffic citations
o Vehicular assault or homicide
After your licenses is suspended, you may be able to apply for a restricted license after a certain amount of time. A restricted license will allow you to go to work, school, and required drug or alcohol treatment.
To have your license reinstated, you must:
o Pay new license fee
o Provide proof of financial responsibility
o Pay reinstatement fees
The wait until you can get your license back can feel like an eternity. However, the penalties you can face for driving with a suspended license can make things much worse. Fighting a driving on a suspended license charge is difficult because, once the district attorney alleges that you drove on a suspended license, you carry the burden of proving that you did have a valid license at the time of the alleged offense. Without this evidence, you will lose. A skilled attorney may be able to offer negotiating skills or advice.
In Tennessee, driving on a suspended license is a Class B misdemeanor with a sentence of up to 6 months in jail and/or a $500 fine. The penalties may increase depending on why your license was suspended in the first place. Those found driving on a license that was suspended due to vehicular assault or homicide will find harsher penalties.
It should also be noted that if you are a repeat offender of driving with a suspended license, the penalties are more severe. If you have driven on a suspended license before, it becomes a Class A misdemeanor with up to one year in jail and/or a $2,500 fine. It will also result in an increase in the suspension period for your license.
Fighting a driving on a suspended license charge can feel like an uphill battle. Our Tennessee criminal defense attorneys can help
You have already had to struggle with the restrictions of having a suspended license. Now you have to face a charge of driving on a suspended license. The Tennessee criminal defense attorneys at Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley are on your side. Contact Kidwell, South, Beasley & Haley today online, or call 615-893-1331 to schedule a free consultation.